The Time of Your Life

Live from Television Centre

The Time of Your Life was a 30-minute performance by Gecko created specially for LIVE FROM TELEVISION CENTRE, a live broadcast that aired on BBC Four on Sunday 15th November 2015. Showcasing independent theatre companies and makers based in the UK, four companies performed as part of the two-hour programme, with a fifth piece exclusive to BBC iPlayer.

The Time of Your Life has an ordinary man at its heart. Desperate to feel different and to find a real human connection in a world consumed by social networks and mass advertising, the man embarks on a journey through rooms representing different milestones in his life. The rooms are transformed using powerful visual effects to create an increasingly vivid world for the viewer that disintegrates as quickly as it appears.

The five performances were all filmed in the iconic Television Centre complex (the headquarters of BBC Television between 1960 and 2013) and was the BBC’s first live broadcast there since 2013.

Full show

Created and directed by Amit Lahav
Producer: Rosalind Wynn
Production Manager: Nathan Johnson

Devising Performers:
Greig Cooke
Fionn Cox-Davies
Madeleine Fairminer
Anna Finkel
Kip Johnson
Chihiro Kawasaki
Amit Lahav
Katie Lusby
Ryen Perkins-Gangnes
Dan Watson

With Otis Baggett Lahav, Jack Bentinck, John Biddle, Alexandra Carter, Aya Kobayashi, Georgina Roberts, Uri Roodner, Rob Salmon, Liam Steward-George, Francois Testory, Niko Van Harlekin.

Set Design: Rhys Jarman
Stage Lighting: Chris Swain
Music: Dave Price
Associate Directors: Helen Baggett and Rich Rusk
Costume Design: Rhys Jarman and Martin Goddard
Hair & Make Up: Jane Cole
Company Stage Manager: Tanya Stephenson
Technical Stage Manager: Andres Velasquez

Musicians and Vocalists:
Tom Allan (trumpet), Neil Charles (bass), Ben Hales (guitar), Bev Lee Harlilng (vocals), Jack McNeil (clarinet), Igor Outkine (accordion) and François Testory (vocals)

With thanks to Age UK Suffolk, DanceEast, Eastern Angles, Ipswich Borough Council, Ipswich Film Theatre, New Wolsey Theatre Ipswich, Red Rose Chain, Polly Aspinall, Jim Copperthwaite, Josie Dale-Jones, Chris Evans, Gareth Green, Simon Hall, Becca Newman, Dylan Price, Matt Somerville.

Extras: Imani Alexander, Jesse Briton, Joss Carter, Simon Dorling, Imogen Hudson-Clayton, Georgina Jarman Carr, Rhian McLean, Federico Moro, Lisa Savini, Bethany Warren.

For full broadcast credits, please visit the BBC website.

Fellow performers

A Gecko and Battersea Arts Centre co-production in collaboration with BBC Arts. Funded by Arts Council England.